Close

“Patients feel very vulnerable while in hospital, and their environment should make their stay as pleasant as possible. The benefits of increased infection control and privacy, as well as reduction in noise, will result in an improved hospital stay for patients.”

SPEEDING THE RECOVERY OF PATIENTS, WHILE INCREASING DIGNITY

“As a nurse, one of my responsibilities is to adapt to patients’ needs and accommodate them as much as possible. Staying in a hospital is a very stressful time for patients and their families. With four patients in the same room, personal comfort can often be compromised and safety can be an issue.

Patients may spread germs and bacteria to each other when they share a common living space, especially a common toilet. They are susceptible to contracting disease due to their compromised immune system. It has been demonstrated that the rates of infection from MRSA and C. difficile decrease significantly when patients have their own space, or share with only one other patient.

Privacy is also a concern. Receiving bad news or discussing health concerns with the medical team is a very private matter. Patients may feel uncomfortable with other patients or visitors overhearing their conversations. Patients who are distressed may become anxious to a level where they are unable to take their medication.

Some patients, such as those suffering from dementia and Alzheimer’s, may be unaware of the noise they are generating. A more private space will allow patients to be more relaxed, and talk freely to their family.  They could spend more quality time with their loved ones without disturbing or being disturbed by others. Reducing the size of the wards will aid in noise reduction, including the attendant noise of other patients’ monitoring or treatment equipment.

Patients feel very vulnerable while in hospital, and their environment should make their stay as pleasant as possible. The benefits of increased infection control and privacy, as well as reduction in noise, will result in an improved hospital stay for patients. Hospital staff’s ability to provide superior care will be enhanced by a decrease in secondary infection, and more relaxed patients.

Overall, these benefits may well aid in and speed the recovery of patients, resulting in an increased turnover of the beds, more dignity and better care.”

 

ANN WILSON
REGISTERED NURSE ON MEDICAL FLOOR

Close

« Les patients se sentent vulnérables à l’hôpital. Leur environnement devrait faire en sorte que leur séjour soit le plus agréable possible. Avec des chambres à 1 lit un meilleur contrôle des infections, la confidentialité et la réduction du bruit contribueront à améliorer leur séjour. »  

ACCÉLÉRER LA GUÉRISON DES PATIENTS, TOUT EN AUGMENTANT LA DIGNITÉ

« Comme infirmière, ma responsabilité première consiste à répondre aux besoins des patients et les accommoder le mieux possible. Un séjour à l’hôpital peut être une période très stressante pour les patients et leurs familles. Avec quatre patients dans la même chambre, le confort personnel et la sécurité peuvent être compromis.

Les germes et les bactéries peuvent se propager d’un patient à l’autre lorsque ceux-ci partagent un même espace, particulièrement une toilette commune. Les patients sont plus susceptibles de contracter des maladies en raison de leur système immunitaire affaibli. Il a été démontré que lorsque les patients ont leur propre espace, ou le partagent avec une seule autre personne, les taux d’infection au SARM (bactérie résistante) et à la C. difficile diminuent de façon significative.

La confidentialité est aussi une préoccupation. Recevoir des mauvaises nouvelles ou discuter des problèmes de santé avec l’équipe médicale sont des questions de nature très privée. Les patients peuvent être mal à l’aise quand d’autres patients ou visiteurs entendent leurs conversations. Des patients en détresse peuvent même devenir anxieux au point de ne plus être en mesure de prendre leurs médicaments.

Certains patients, comme les personnes souffrant de démence ou de la maladie d’Alzheimer, peuvent ne pas avoir conscience du bruit qu’ils génèrent. Le fait de disposer d’espaces privés permettra aux patients d’être plus détendus et de parler librement avec leur famille. Ils pourront passer du temps de qualité avec leurs proches sans déranger ou être dérangés par d’autres. La réduction du nombre de patients par chambre aidera à réduire le bruit, incluant les sons produits par les équipements de surveillance ou de traitement des autres patients.

Les patients se sentent vulnérables à l’hôpital. Leur environnement devrait faire en sorte que leur séjour soit le plus agréable possible. Un meilleur contrôle des infections, la confidentialité et la réduction du bruit contribueront à améliorer leur séjour. Grâce à la diminution des infections secondaires et à des patients plus détendus, le personnel de l’hôpital pourra prodiguer davantage de soins de haute qualité.

Dans l’ensemble, ces avantages contribueront à accélérer la guérison des patients et à diminuer la durée des séjours, tout en augmentant la dignité et la qualité des soins. »

ANN WILSON
INFIRMIÈRE MÉDICALE