Close

“When you spend a long time in the hospital following delivery, you need the best possible conditions to get through it. Reorganizing the Mother/Child Program at the Chaleur Regional Hospital will help to better accommodate both parents, whether it be in more spacious rooms or family rooms.”

IT’S THE BEST WAY TO SHOW YOU CARE ABOUT CHILDREN AND TO HELP PARENTS

“In the spring of 2015, I spent 5 weeks in the nursery of the Chaleur Regional Hospital after the preterm birth of my twins for which I had been rushed to Moncton.  I had a C-section at 28 weeks of gestation and my two babies, Maude and Julien, were born. Unfortunately, Julien passed away after 4 days in the incubator… My husband and I were alone in Moncton and in spite of the fact that my family came to visit, it was long and difficult. 

“When I was told that Maude was stable enough to be transferred to Bathurst, I felt relieved. She weighed 2.5 lbs. when we arrived at the Intensive Care Nursery of the Chaleur Regional Hospital. I do not know how to thank the doctors, nurses, and staff for their support and kindness.  My husband and I were coming to see Maude during the day. She was fed through a tube and I took her in my arms to rock her during her tube feeding. Overnight, the nurses rocked her, talked to her, and took care of her. On discharge, she was doing well and had doubled in weight.

“When you spend a long time in the hospital following delivery, you need the best possible conditions to get through it. I found that the mother was getting a lot of good care but there was not enough room for the father. Reorganizing the Mother/Child Program at the Chaleur Regional Hospital will help to better accommodate both parents, whether it be in more spacious rooms or family rooms.

During my stay, I asked people who wanted to help me to send us good vibes and…to make a donation! It is even more important now as part of the major fundraising campaign to improve the quality of care and conditions for patients as part of the Mother/Child Program. Make a donation. It’s the best way to show you care about children and to help parents.”


JESSICA POIRIER
MOM

Close

« Quand on est à l’hôpital pour un séjour prolongé lié à la naissance, on a besoin des meilleures conditions possibles pour passer au travers.

Le réaménagement du programme mère-enfant à l’Hôpital régional Chaleur permettra de mieux accommoder les deux parents, que ce soit dans des chambres plus grandes ou des salons pour la famille. »

LA MEILLEURE FAÇON DE PENSER AUX ENFANTS ET D’AIDER LES PARENTS

« Au printemps 2015, j’ai passé 5 semaines à la pouponnière de l’Hôpital régional Chaleur après un accouchement prématuré de jumeaux pour lequel j’avais été amenée d’urgence à Moncton. À 28 semaines de grossesse, j’ai subi une césarienne et les deux bébés, Maude et Julien, sont nés. Malheureusement, Julien nous a quittés après 4 jours dans l’incubateur… Mon conjoint et moi étions seuls à Moncton et, malgré le fait que ma famille nous ait rendu visite, c’était long et difficile. 

« Quand on m’a annoncé que Maude était assez stable pour un transfert à Bathurst, j’ai été soulagée. Elle pesait 2,5 lb à notre arrivée aux soins intensifs de la pouponnière de l’Hôpital régional Chaleur. Je ne sais comment remercier les médecins, les infirmières et le personnel pour tout leur soutien et leur gentillesse. Mon conjoint et moi venions voir Maude le jour. Elle était nourrie par un tube et je la prenais pour la bercer durant son gavage. Pendant la nuit, ce sont les infirmières qui la berçaient, lui parlaient et s’occupaient d’elle. À sa sortie, elle se portait bien et son poids avait doublé.

« Quand on est à l’hôpital pour un séjour prolongé lié à la naissance, on a besoin des meilleures conditions possibles pour passer au travers. J’ai trouvé qu’il y avait beaucoup de bons soins pour la maman, mais qu’il n’y avait pas assez d’espace pour le papa. Le réaménagement du Programme mère-enfant à l’Hôpital régional Chaleur permettra de mieux accommoder les deux parents, que ce soit dans des chambres plus grandes ou des salons pour la famille.

Lors de mon séjour, j’ai demandé aux gens qui voulaient m’aider de nous envoyer leurs bonnes pensées et… de faire un don! C’est encore plus important maintenant, dans le cadre de la campagne majeure de financement pour améliorer la qualité des soins et les conditions de séjour au Programme mère-enfant. Faites votre don. C’est la meilleure façon de penser aux enfants et d’aider les parents. »

JESSICA POIRIER
MAMAN