Close

“It is time to comply with standards. Transforming wards into private and semi-private rooms will greatly improve the comfort of patients and visitors, the effectiveness of the staff, and confidentiality during consultations with the doctor and specialists.”

IT WILL BE A WIN-WIN SITUATION ALL AROUND

“During my many hospital stays, I have been the fifth patient in a room of four people on a few occasions, for a period of two to three days. You can imagine how difficult this situation was, whether it be for doctors, nurses, other patients, visitors, families, or myself.  The staff were very professional and the care excellent, but these conditions were not easy for anyone.

“You felt that you were disturbing and bothering the others. The only thing that separated us was a curtain. There was not enough room for patients using a walker or in a wheelchair and the place became cluttered when meal trays were distributed. There was no confidentiality during consultations with the doctor. Both males and females had to share the same narrow bathroom at one end of the ward and the same sink at the other end.

“It is time to comply with standards. Transforming wards into private and semi-private rooms will greatly improve the comfort of patients and visitors, the effectiveness of the staff, and confidentiality during consultations with the doctor and specialists, including psychologists and dietitians. Patients will have their own bathroom, they will be able to close the door of their room to get dressed and undressed comfortably, and they will be able to adjust the room temperature as they wish.  The staff will be better able to meet the specific needs of everyone. It will be more hygienic, safer, and the atmosphere will be more positive for all. It will be a win-win situation all around!”

 

LÉO LEBLANC
RETIRED/PATIENT

Close

« Il est temps de se mettre aux normes. La transformation de chambres publiques en chambres privées et semi-privées permettra d’améliorer grandement le confort des patients et des visiteurs, l’efficacité du personnel et la confidentialité avec le médecin et les spécialistes. »

CE SERA VRAIMENT GAGNANT-GAGNANT

« Lors de mes nombreuses hospitalisations, j’ai été à quelques reprises le cinquième patient dans une chambre de quatre personnes, pour une période de deux à trois jours. Vous pouvez imaginer combien cette situation était difficile, autant pour les médecins que pour les infirmières, les autres patients, les visiteurs, la famille et moi. Le personnel était très professionnel et les soins étaient excellents, mais dans ces conditions, ce n’était facile pour personne.

« On a l’impression de nuire et de déranger les autres. On est séparé des autres seulement par un rideau. Il n’y a pas assez d’espace pour les patients en marchette ou en fauteuil roulant, et les lieux deviennent encombrés durant la distribution des repas. Il n’y a aucune confidentialité lors des consultations avec le médecin. Hommes et femmes partagent la même salle de bain étroite à une extrémité de la chambre et un même lavabo à l’autre extrémité.

« Il est temps de se mettre aux normes. La transformation de chambres publiques en chambres privées et semi-privées permettra d’améliorer grandement le confort des patients et des visiteurs, l’efficacité du personnel et la confidentialité avec le médecin et les spécialistes, entre autres avec les psychologues et les diététiciens. Les patients auront leur propre salle de bain, pourront fermer la porte de leur chambre pour se vêtir et se dévêtir à leur aise, et pourront régler la température de la pièce à leur convenance. Le personnel pourra mieux répondre aux besoins spécifiques de chacun. Ce sera plus hygiénique, plus sécuritaire et l’atmosphère sera plus positive pour tous. Ce sera vraiment gagnant-gagnant! »

 

LÉO LEBLANC
RETRAITÉ, PATIENT